Competitiveness is considered to be an important quality for people in many societies. How do you think it affects individuals? Is it a positive or negative trend?

Nowadays it is vitally important for individuals to be competitive in numerous aspects. In this essay, I will discuss how it impacts each person and I would argue this to be a positive trend. Competitiveness mainly affects all members of society in their careers. To illustrate, in the competitive job market, working adults have to be not only capable but also outstanding in order to have bright career prospects. For example, in some multinational companies, thousands of applicants may compete for a job position and only the most outstanding one would win. In other words, employees desperately need to improve their professional skills and gain as many qualifications as possible to be competitive. Consequently, those more capable adults are more likely to achieve success. However, excessive pressure could lead to both mental and physical illness for some workers. Despite some of the negative effects mentioned above, I would consider it to be beneficial to society as a whole. Firstly, a competitive workforce allows for a more productive society. For instance, this would greatly enhance productivity and creativity, both of which are essential qualities for a promising career. Secondly, individuals would be more inspirational and motivated in such an atmosphere where people are encouraged to compete with each other. Although a few people may find it harsh and struggle to live in a world like this, society can benefit from more productive employees. In conclusion, even though some people may suffer from mental and physical problems, I believe that most of us could benefit from this and society as a whole would be more productive.