Advanced technology has brought many beneficial changes to the world. However, some old people today struggle with the use of technologies such as mobile phones and the Internet. How can the elderly benefit from using advanced technologies? How can the elderly be encouraged to use consumer electronics more often?

In this day and age, technology plays a vital role in facilitating human life. However, some old adults have difficulty using these facilities. This essay will elaborate on the advantages of the elderly adopting cutting-edge technology, as well as suggest some solutions to encourage them to be interested in using electrical appliances. To begin with, there are various benefits associated with the old generation using emerging technologies. Firstly, the main benefit is that these facilities will enable old-aged citizens to do their daily tasks easier. Take internet mobile banking, for example; with these applications, the elderly can pay bills at home, without travelling to a bank and having to wait in a line for a long time. Secondly, another profit is that technology can make their life safer. For instance, the old population can make a contact with their family members immediately in an emergency situation by using mobile phones. On the other hand, while most old citizens struggle to handle electronic devices, there are many ways to help them get used to these technologies. Starting from providing proper instructions, although old citizens are not digital natives, they are able to learn using electronic gadgets as a new skill with some guidance and assistance provided. For example, Apple, one of the largest tech companies, claimed that people in every age group are able to use their gadgets after learning from salesmen within less than 30 minutes. Furthermore, another viable answer is to make a community of the old generation, so the elderly can keep up with their friends on social media. As can be seen that the members in Facebook groups, with people sharing common interests, have more engagement on this application than the users who use it individually. In conclusion, although many old people have problems adopting new technologies, there are many advantages to using these facilities, especially in terms of facilitating them to do their daily routines. Moreover, I am of the opinion that proper instructions and online communities are able to encourage the old generation to use digital appliances.