Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Due to the rise of social media, we are seeing more than usual amount of advertisements in our day-to-day lives. Even though they are informative and tell us about some new products, we end up spending on lot on unnecessary items and services which increases our debts or decrease our savings which could have been used towards something important. Nowadays people are spending a lot of their time on social media where they see huge amount of advertisements, and because of that they feel an urge to buy something. These social media platforms have started using machine learning and artificial intelligence which collects data all the time and they use this data to create an algorithm which can target advertisements to a certain amount group of people who fits their algorithmic model. For example, majority of the companies tracks the amount of time a user spends on certain kinds of ads and the algorithm will target only those certain products to the users which it thinks are relevant. Due to the targeted advertising, people develop an urge to buy that product even though it is not needed. For example, If a person is passionate about cars, he will spend more time on an advertisement about a car and after that the algorithm will show similar ads and because of that he will feel and urge to get a new car even though there is no need for that. He will eventually end up with an auto loan or losing his savings for a thing which was not necessary and will regret the decision later. In conclusion, advertisements are a good tool to get information about new products which might improve our lives but it can create a negative impact on our financial stability which can affect our spending on essential things required in future.