Elders say that life was better in past compared to life today. Do you think they are right or wrong based on your knowledge or experience?

Old people think that the life before was better than life now a days. This is because they were happier living in the village with less people. I think, that they are correct because life in the village is also not the same. First of all, life before was doing all things together like family. They all have to do work because there was no machines to help this was good way for families to understand each other. If a farmer in the village in the past need to make harvest he depend on his sons to help him and they do work together and live together. This life totally changed today as we have tractor and other machine to do job of 10 people. So sons go to find other jobs and family not stay together and so the old people feel life today is not good like past. Secondly, there is more pollution problem everywhere because there is traffic. This is main reason for lot of health problem so the old people don’t like life today. Most of the small village in eastern Europe has no farmers all are doing factory job for example and this factory is far so all have to take transport or take their car so it is making too much pollution everywhere. The old people not working in nature but in factor these days and so they get the feeling that life was better in past. To summarize, many old people like the life in the past and I think it is right because they are not happy working in factory or when the children go away to work.