Nowadays, many medical research projects are funded by private companies. In your opinion, do you think that research should be carried by private companies, individuals or government? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the past, many of the greatest scientific discoveries in the field of medicine had been achieved by individuals alone. However, as dependence on technology increased in order to make new findings, more and more researchers were needed in multidisciplinary groups. This has led to a shift in how science is organized and funded. Companies ' funding became increasingly crucial, and hence it has been argued that private matters should not drive health research. In my opinion, both companies and government have different roles. With regards to companies, from the perspective of a researcher affiliated with governmental institutions and as the founder of a health-tech company, it is undeniable that profit drives developers in every setting, either private or public. This is due to subsistence needs imprinted in humans’ unconscious. In other words, as any other animal trying to survive, although not explicitly, humans see it as a necessity to hold valuable resources. On the other hand, governments have the ultimate goal of making sure discoveries fulfil society's needs. For instance, if a company has the sole purpose of making a profit irrespective of the actual efficacy of its product, then it should be strictly regulated by law and forbidden to sell. Furthermore, unfortunately, that is the case for many companies worldwide, as the natural drive for accumulation is modulated by a broken moral compass. To conclude, in my opinion, given the fact that the need for accumulation is somehow imprinted in our genes, governments should regulate companies stringently in order to make sure that new discoveries will actually benefit people’s health and not hurt their pockets.