In Britain, when someone gets old, they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

Like most other countries, the UK government often pays for the elderly care facility to provide specialist services to its older citizens. These residential care homes are costly to operate, and it is debatable whether the government or the family should bear these costs. I think the government should fund and provide at least rudimentary facilities, although the family should also contribute financially to assist with better nursing for their elderly relatives. In many cultures, people are taught to care for their old parents throughout generations, including providing monetary support. Parents work hard to raise their young children and provide them with the best education, so they become independent and find well-paid jobs. Hence, they should be expected to be responsible for their parents when they grow old, including care in a nursing home, particularly if they do not have the finances to support themselves. For instance, a study by Agewell Foundation found that many strongly agreed about looking after their old parents, including paying for nursing care facilities. Consequently, it could be argued that financially stable families should pay for the maintenance of elderly people. Nonetheless, not all families can afford the expensive nursing home fees, and the state is responsible for all its citizens. When working, people pay taxes to the state, which is utilised in the country's economic development. Therefore, the state is equally responsible for caring for its aged citizens, who played a role in the nation’s growth by providing basic elderly residential facilities. To illustrate, during the election campaign, the candidates visit these homes asking for votes and promising they would be looked after and not neglected by the government. For these reasons, it should also be the government ’s responsibility to pay for nursing home care. In conclusion, there is a clear argument that families should pay for the care of their elderly relatives. However, I believe the government should equally cover these costs and use the tax money people pay to provide for them if they need care in their old age since not everyone can afford to pay for residential care facilities.