Despite health warnings, a large number of people continue to smoke all over the world. Why should we be concerned about this? What solutions would you suggest? Give reason for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, many people become smoking addicts. The reasons for smoking vary from being a “fashionable” habit to conforming to your friends. Sometimes, parents set a bad example for their own children and are unable to quit smoking themselves. But governments and non-governmental organisations should unite powers and help addicts smoke less. Smoking increases the risk of cancer, damages the foetus of pregnant women, makes teeth become yellow and rises the risk of impotence among men. What is more, smoking is extremely dangerous and unhealthy for surrounding people who inevitably breathe cigarette smoke. Children and teenagers are often curious. They witness their own parents or teachers smoke and want to try it for themselves. The image of a woman smoking a cigarette in movies which is represented as being attractive is stuck in many girls’ minds. Thus, adolescents expose themselves to all the risks smoking brings. Increasing the prices of cigarettes and cigars is the first step toward a healthier generation. Fewer people will be able to afford to keep their bad habits. Moreover, governments should ban smoking in public places. Tighter control should be forced on tobacco retailers. It is not surprising that cigarettes are being sold to children without any scruples. Retailers chase higher profits and are ignorant about the age of their customers. I think pregnant women should also be banned from buying cigarettes since their children suffer from the devastating effects of tobacco smoke and often become addicts when they grow up in the future. Smoking does not have to necessarily be made illegal as many people who are already addicted would be at a disadvantage, but smoking should be turned into a luxurious choice for those who have the money and lungs to afford it. In conclusion, I strongly support the idea of tighter control over society which would lead to a drop in the number of avid smokers. Everyone should have the freedom to smoke as long as they do not harm those around them, especially their own children.