In many countries large amounts of foods are wasted. Why do you think people waste food in this way? What can be done to reduce the amount of food thrown away? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 254 words.

Humans are depending on food for their survival. With the new inventions in the food industry, a number of different items are introduced to people. However, a quite larger amount of food is wasted all around the world. The following essay will elaborate on the reasons why people waste food and how can minimize the waste of food with relevant examples. To begin with, the majority of people waste food, firstly because today they have too many options in the market. To elaborate further, nowadays we can see that there are many food items which are prepared daily and as a result the choices people have are unlimited. As an example, KFC has a variety of burgers and sometimes people get confused about what to eat. Secondly, the price of cuisines is relatively cheap and any person can afford a meal for a minimum of $2. Since the prices are cheap, people buy different items which they won’t consume even, and ultimately they throw them in the bin. In contrast, government and the public people can help to reduce this issue, because if the wastage of food is continued in the future the scarcity of meals will be high. On one hand, authorities can impose high taxes on food items where which makes people buy a limited amount of meals they want to consume. To exemplify, increasing the meal prices in cheap restaurants like KFC, and Burger King where people will twice in the future when buying two or three meals. On the other hand, as consumers, we can try to use the maximum amount of food we have rather than going for too many options. To conclude, individuals waste food today because the choices they have are skyrocketing and the prices of items are cheap. If authorities take in hand the issue it could be eliminated and people have to think several times before purchasing a couple of meals.