Nowadays, there are many celebrities who are famous for their glamour and wealth rather than achievements. This is a bad example for young people. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

In the present day, it is true that a lot of famous figures are well known for their wealth and glamour instead of achievements and success. Some argue that this has a negative effect on teenagers, and I completely agree with this idea. On the one hand, there are several reasons why I consider this to be detrimental to young adults. Firstly, youngsters may be easily misled by their idols because they are not mentally mature enough to distinguish between what is right and what is wrong. For example, they would consider money and wealth is of the utmost importance if their idols are famous for wealth. This is more likely to encourage people to believe in materialism, which will undoubtedly have a negative impact on society. As a result, students will desperately dream about being rich and they will no longer be eager for acquiring knowledge and professional skills, resulting in a lack of a productive workforce. On the other hand, youngsters need a positive role model. In other words, they require someone who is knowledgeable and motivated to teach them and to open the door to a promising career path for them. Apparently, celebrities who are not famous for their achievements in science or society are not proper role models. Such well-known figures cannot benefit students in terms of studies and they only care about making a profit. In conclusion, an increasing number of famous people are known for the glamour and money they possess rather than their contribution to society nowadays, and I believe this could be detrimental to youngsters.