Some people believe that the difference between the lowest paid jobs and the highest paid jobs should be reduced. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The social disparity is one of many problems caused by an unideal economic state where income inequality happened. People assume that the difference between the least paid and the most paid should be decreased. However, is it necessary to taper off the gap? The notion somehow sounds unwise and I disagree with it. Public point out the contrast between lower-class and higher-class workers’ income because it causes social inequality. At one point, it sounds reasonable because the riches often exploit the resources and take control over others poorly. Take Freeport, as an example. Freeport, as the biggest private mining company in Indonesia, is known to pay the executives up to 20 times higher than the engineers who are mostly locals. Consequently, the rich become richer and the poor become poorer. On the other hand, the nature of job opportunities that are profit-driven underlines specific qualifications to fill the positions. While, the white-collar workers are paid higher as they need to study and have certain degrees, certifications, or management skills, blue-collar ones are paid less. Uber, a raid-hailing startup company who has once led the market and owned thousands of employees around the world went bankrupt because of management-level issues. So, we understand that white-collar workers hold a bigger responsibility to manage the business efficiently, not only to meet the expected revenue but also to take care of the employees. To conclude my view, it is not a good idea to reduce the wage gaps because the workload is different. Furthermore, the International Labor Organization had set a minimum salary standard to guarantee the employees’ rights that should be followed by the employers, either the government or the business owner. For example, the Indonesian Ministry of Manpower authorizes labor laws and reviews the minimum salary in each province every year.