In some spend young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

Nowadays, with the transportation being made much more convenient by the improvement of technology. An increasing number of young people tend to do some part-time jobs or go somewhere for a trip between graduating from high school and beginning university life. From my perspective, I think this phenomenon will bring both beneficial and harmful effects. The benefits are obvious. On the one hand, for those who choose to work for a year, they may able to gain some working experience which will help them to adapt to the university life more easily. For example, if a person chose to work in a restaurant, he need do learn how to cope with different kinds of things like breaking the dishes, have conflict with managers or other waitress. So that they will be unhurried when meeting the same kinds of things in the university. On the other hand, those who choose to travel around the world will get enough relax after the hard work of the three- year high school life. Enjoying sceneries of different places or living with local people will be beneficial for travelers to have a better understanding of local culture. This will bring benefits to those who choose history or tourism as their major. However, they will still be affected by some harmful impacts no matter they choose to work or travel. Firstly, only doing works or traveling without learning any academic knowledge will let them forget huge amount of things they have learnt at high school.So it might be difficult for them to adapt to the intensity of learning and cause them to even flank in the test. Secondly, some of their peers may not go to work or travel, which means they entered university one year earlier than them. They have more time to enhance their learning skills and do more project to increase their occupational opportunity. In such a society which the unemployment rate shows an upward trend, it is much more difficult for those who have worked or traveled for a year to find new jobs. In conclusion, it seems to me that working or traveling for a year would bring both harmful and beneficial effects.