Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

These days, there is a rapid increase in the number of people who solves their mental issues through alternative medicine and treatments instead of visiting doctors. In this essay, I will discuss this matter and draw a rational conclusion at the end. To begin with, as a result of progress in technology we can assume a few communities consider influencers' opinions about health as they think of themselves as professionals, they try new stuff and if they worked for them they share with their followers without any concerns about whoever is watching them. To exemplify, on Instagram, many companies are giving their products to famous ones on social media in order to advertise them despite any problems it may cause. In addition, there are many traditional treatments in a few places that older generations think are enough only because they were related to the past and worked for their ancestors. Thus, instead of visiting someone who is an expert they rather refer to their past without having knowledge. As an illustration, in Iran, grandmothers usually advise their relatives to use these ancient methods as they think if they were not helpful old ones would not use them. Accordingly, as it can be clearly seen, this trend might be negative as it can put people's lives in danger. However, some may believe as long as it worked for other ones or is famous among the public, so, trying it would not cause any harm, but, as we have seen in history not visiting the doctors can seriously be life-threatening because they are the one who studied these kinds of stuff in universities and are familiar with what is good for health. To exemplify, nowadays, there are many skincare products and only by seeing someone is used them and worked for them, it is not a good idea to buy that without a doctor's observation. Thus, there should be even some warnings about these things to prevent any future dangers. In conclusion, as I mentioned the reasons for this matter above, I think using alternatives can be dangerous as some people especially teenagers have no information about their bodies and how they work. It is a negative development.