The growing number of obese people is putting strain on the healthcare system.Some people think that the best way to deal with this problem is to introduce more physical education lessons in school curriculum. To what extent you are agree or disagree?

An increasing number of obesity occurrences is challenging the healthcare system nowadays, therefore, it is argued that the best way to fix it is to add an educational course in school programs. This essay will argue that despite the importance of the proposed measurement, in my opinion, knowledge alone can not defeat the obesity outbreak. The number of individuals who are struggling with overweight-related health problems is dramatically rising in western countries. Clearly, the government is now forced to make an effort to ease the pressure that obese patients are putting on healthcare services, through education. Personally, I believe that the example solution suggested above is definitely worth trying because it is essential to teach children from a young age the correlation between health and the consumption of unhealthy eating habits. In Sweden for instance, already in middle school, the authorities have introduced an obligatory class called “Health and cooking” where the students can learn about nutrition and how to prepare meals for themselves. On the other hand, having knowledge of the problems related to obesity would necessarily not stop a person from doing an activity that can lead to weight problems. Statistics show that people who often consume fast food are most unlikely to perform enough exercise to prevent morbid overweight. Therefore, the main disadvantage of this solution is that the government would use a lot of money to implement the idea, without taking any supporting measures. For example, the authorities can increase the tax on unhealthy food and beverages, so it can cover the costs of treating those patients. In conclusion, as a result of the growing fast food industry, it is inevitable to see how it affects healthcare services. Although, the educational approach to this problem is suitable, I strongly believe it clearly has to be combined with other measures in order to reduce obesity in our society.