Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem?

It is an undeniable fact that plastic bags, bottles and wrapping are hazardous to the environment. I hold the view that there could be multiple reasons behind this problem. However, in order to tackle this issue, some radical measures can be taken by the government. One of the main detrimental effects of using polyethene material seems to have increased pollution. What I mean by this is that things, which are purely made up of plastic, polyethene bags, for instance, are not easily degradable or recyclable. Therefore, in order to decompose these objects, they need to be burnt out which releases toxic gases into the atmosphere and contributes to increasing the carbon footprint. This issue can be addressed by replacing plastic materials with eco-friendly and degradable ones. Take decomposable bags, for example, which are made from banana peel. As a result, these can easily be recycled without producing any waste. Another damaging impact is poor health. To put it more clearly, although vast usage of plastic products all over the globe, these can have severe repercussions on health. For illustration, according to a large number of research, nowadays, one of the major causative factors of cardiovascular diseases, such as heart attack, is the usage of plastic containers or bowls, while microwaving food. This is because, radioactive rays, which are produced by the microwave oven, penetrate into the food via plastic and start a chain reaction. Consequently, this reaction leads to a rise in the cholesterol level and causes heart vessels to get shrunk. To solve this issue, materials which are manufactured from glass, could be used which prevent the penetration of hazardous waves into the food and avoid any chain reaction to embark and thus, reduce the chances of having detrimental effects on health. To sum up, in my view, the damaging impacts of polyethene products on the environment can be combated by replacing them with degradable ones and glass-made products.