Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

It is true that the government spends a large amount of money not only on public services but also on the arts. Although spending money on public services is important, I believe that it is also worth it for the government to invest in the arts. There are some reasons why the government budget should be spent on public service. The first reason is that public services contain hospitals, roads, and schools which decide the living quantities of most people. For example, the public’s health conditions will decline, if the government do not spend enough money on hospitals. Furthermore, schools can not provide suitable learning courses to our children, if the government invest less in educational institutions. Otherwise, the poor will suffer from bigger negative effects as they are more likely to rely on these services. However, this does not mean that the arts should be totally ignored. many art institutions generate hardly much profit. Lots of theatres and other similar places may close their doors unless the government supports them. Also, the arts have a positive influence on our living quantities. For instance, most people really enjoy going to the theatre and watching drama performances, which can create some high-quality me time for them. The government have a responsibility to provide help to these institutions so that they can still bring the public fun. In conclusion, my view is that investing in the arts is not a waste of money as this provides many benefits, and we should spend a large amount of investment going into public services as this affects the quality of life for most people. (for nearly all of us)