In many countries, people wear more western-style clothes (suits and jeans) than their traditional clothes. Why is this happening? Is it a positive or negative development?

In the present day, it is true that modern style clothes, such as suits and jeans, are becoming popular, while traditional ones become rare. In this essay, I will discuss why this is happening, and I would argue that the positive sides outweigh the drawbacks of this phenomenon. There are several reasons why western-style clothes come to be a global trend. Firstly, globalization encourages the rapid development of the economy and culture. This allows individuals from all around the world to buy products and watch imported movies from other nations. Consequently, local residents, and teenagers in particular, are more likely to be influenced by foreign movies because they enjoy exotic cultures the most and therefore they would prefer wearing fashionable garments rather than traditional ones. Secondly, in some cases, wearing western clothes seems to be more convenient and casual than dressing in traditional ones. Finally, there are strict dress codes in many workplaces, where employees are required to dress in suits. Undoubtedly, this can benefit the global economy as well as social development. For instance, the increasing demand for modern garments creates a lot of employment opportunities in developing countries, boosting the local economy and promoting cultural diversity. Besides, there would be fewer cultural boundaries in the world. However, some people would argue that this can lead to harmful effects on cultural diversities because the local culture may disappear. As a result, in order to prevent this from happening, governments should encourage and protect traditional clothes and handicrafts as well. In conclusion, globalization, conveniences and dress codes in the workplace mainly contribute to this, and I believe that this is a positive trend.