Nowadays many students choose to study abroad at university level. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of studying abroad, and give your own opinion about whether it is a good idea.

Education is a fundamental necessity of society. In the present day, more and more people favour pursuing higher education in countries abroad. In my opinion, I believe that the advantages of studying overseas outweigh the drawbacks. However, this essay will explore both aspects, and demonstrate why its proponents are correct. To begin with, students can learn to be independent while studying abroad at a university level. From a young age, parents tend to take care of everything for their children, from daily necessities like food and shelter to education and health. While young learners get to study in other countries, they need to take charge of their own lives. For example, they are required to do house chores and seek medical attention on their own. Apart from that, students get the chance to meet people from different backgrounds when they study abroad. They are exposed to people with different cultures, traditions and beliefs. Hence, students can build new friendships and broaden their horizons. On the other hand, there are several disadvantages to students who further their studies in a foreign country. Living in a completely new country is very challenging for young adults, especially in terms of communication. They may face difficulties in understanding lectures and expressing their thoughts at the university. This language barrier can in turn delay their learning progresses, leading to a delay in graduation. Furthermore, parents are required to fork out a great amount of money to send their children to study in a foreign country. This will impose a great financial burden on the parents. In conclusion, although there are several drawbacks of studying abroad, I believe that they are significantly outweighed by the advantages as students are able to be independent and meet people from different backgrounds, thereby broadening their horizons.