Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that may cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam' How true do you think this statement is ? What measures can governments take discourage people from using their cars?

Nowadays, people prefer travelling by automobile rather than using any public mode of transportation, which has caused daily traffic jams. Government should take steps to promote a mass transit system in order to reduce individual vehicles on the road. In this essay, I will discuss these points in detail with several daily life examples. In the running days, travelling by car is considered a social status symbol such as horses and elephants were used in ancient times. Therefore, motor ownership has increased so fast that it takes months to receive the ordered vehicle even after paying the full amount in advance. Moreover, some youngsters buy them just for the purpose of showing off to their classmates and friends. They even use credit cards to get the latest cars to fulfil their desire. Hence, this scenario ultimately causes congestion on highways despite well-designed wide roads. In addition, at some peak hours like office and school timings people experience the worst traffic jams and air pollution. To solve this issue, authorities should take solid steps to discourage folks from getting too many automobiles on the roadway. They should promote mass transit systems such as trams and buses to minimize the load on streets. For example, a bus can normally carry up to 50 persons while taking no more than three car spaces. On the contrary, 50 folks travelling on separate motors will cause a road blockage. To conclude, the trend of car ownership has increased a lot of pressure on the arteries of a city. People are buying them just to show their social and financial status. To overcome this problem, governments should encourage mass transportation systems with maximum efficiency and minimum cost.