In some countries , owing a home rather than renting one is very important for people. why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negativbe situation?

In this contemporary epoch, myriads of people believe that buying a house is pivotal rather than being a renter. There are certain reasons behind this trend such as positive changes in social status, although this has a negative result that people become less happy due to mortgage payments. I believe that this notion has both positive and negative outcomes. It is an undeniable fact that most people have an ambition to a house in their future. community believe that ownership of a house could change their social status. By this I mean, due to this trend property rates are increasing day by day and people believe that only the affluent can buy houses.To cite an example, in India, women prefer men who have their own house before marriage because they assume that those men can lead a family very easily. However, there are a few negative impacts of this trend. People are in a competition to buy their own house by taking loans. While paying monthly mortgages, most of them may not be happy as they could not spend money in a lavish way. For example, a survey was conducted by psychology students at Harvard University in 2020 about stress and depression due to monthly mortgage payments. As a result, about 90 per cent of people who participated in this survey said that they could not be happy in their own house because of monthly EMI payments.In light of this survey, the officialdom has started to provide counselling sessions every three months for people who have stress from the mortgage. In conclusion, it is stated that purchasing a property has merits and demerits such as increased social status as positive and stress as negative. By attending counselling sessions people can get relief from stress.