In some countries, some of the criminal cases in the low courts are shown on the television, so that the general public can watch them. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In many countries, a few crime court proceedings are aired on local TV stations for general public consumption. While this may have some negative effects on the masses, I strongly believe its benefits outweighs its risk. This essay will not only lucidly elaborate on these pros but as well back them up with some important examples. There are several reasons to support the opinion of televising court crime proceedings on news channels. An important one is that it further reinstates the position of the rule of law in society. In other words, it makes people understand and remember that "where there is law, there is a crime ". That is, no one is above the law for whatever offences they might have committed. For example, in 2010, despite the religious uproar that occurred during the conviction of Osama Bin Ladin, it made people clearly understand that terrorism is a great crime and it is punishable by death. Another instance is the case of a popular R and B singer; R Kelly, who was charged to court for many rape cases committed over two decades ago. All these crime cases were televised and they have definitely left a lasting impression on other individuals in society, therefore, making them actively live a crime -free life. In addition, airing court cases on TV is not only informative but also educating to society. Meaning that it exposes the citizens to know different types of offences and equivalent punishments for each of them. For instance, taking a high school survey carried out about a year ago in the US about sexual abuse, many of these students recommended TV as the leading source of this information. In conclusion, although, public live shows of criminal court cases might have a deeming effect on some people, I frankly believe its advantages surpass these side effects as discussed above. Meanwhile, governmental regulation would go a long way in ensuring the right impression is left on the viewers.