When a new town is planned, it is more important to develop public parks and sports facilities than shopping centers for people to spend their free time in. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that the planning of new towns should also include the construction of public amenities for recreation instead of shopping complexes. From my point of view, I completely agree with the view above. This essay will discuss the following topic and give reasons as follows. First and foremost, permitting sports centers and public parks over shopping complexes promotes the well-being of the individuals. With many parks and exercise platforms, many people can do a lot of outdoor activities and willingly spend more time doing such activities. Furthermore, it encourages teenagers to come down to play sports rather than playing games or surfing the internet. Over time, the environment will be more lively with kids playing around and adults strolling in the parks, which solves the problem of a lack of communication. Secondly, sports centers also contribute to better living conditions, while supermarkets can be overcrowded and lead to traffic congestion. In park towns which are full of parks, there are fewer trucks going around the place because they are meant to carry goods to stock up supermarkets. With this, fewer transportation options will be available, and people can move freely. It is also an advantageous environment since it reduces traffic accidents for citizens and people living here. Hence, it will create a safe environment not just for the sake of people but also contribute significantly to nature, as these places are eco-friendly. Last but not least, this place will attract many dwellers and families who want to settle down in a fresh environment; this will attract quite a lot of people as it is a healthy place to thrive in and can increase the overall health of the society. On the other hand, with fewer shopping locations, it will be hard for people to travel long distances in search of groceries and other needed items. Many will have to drive long distances just to prepare goods and purchase products for their own use. For instance, the lack of supermarkets may put people away from such places. In conclusion, though living in a town that has parks and many recreation areas, it can be challenging to buy goods as stores will be quite far away. Therefore, it is ideal if you live in a place that comprises outdoor spaces as well as shopping areas.