Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about whether children should be taught to be competitive or cooperative. While a spirit of competition can sometimes be beneficial in life, collaborativeness is still the optimal approach for children to adopt, and this is due to many factors. On the one hand, competition can be a remarkable source of motivation for children. When teachers utilize games or prizes to introduce an element of competitiveness into lessons, it can encourage children to work harder to outdo the other pupils in the class. This kind of healthy rivalry may help to build children's self-confidence, while pushing them to work independently and progress more hastily. When these children leave school, their confidence and determination will help them in competitive situations such as job interviews. It can therefore be argued that competition should be encouraged in order to prepare children for adult life. On the other hand, it is perhaps even more important to prepare children for the many aspects of adult life that require cooperation. In the workplace, adults are expected to work in teams, follow instructions given by their superiors, or supervise and support the more junior members of staff. Team collaboration skills are much more useful than a competitive determination to win. This is the attitude that believes schools should foster in young people. Instead of promoting the idea that people are either winners or losers, teachers could show children that they gain more from working together. In conclusion, I can understand why people might want to encourage competitiveness in children, but it seems to me that a cooperative attitude is much more desirable in adult life.