Some schools are very strict about their school uniform and appearance of their pupils, while others schools have very relaxed dress code. What are the advantages and disadvantages of children having school uniform?

Nowadays a lot of schools decide that pupils have to wear school uniforms and are very strict about it. However other schools have a more casual look. This essay will examine both its pros and cons, and I will give my opinion in the conclusion. First and foremost school uniforms help to reduce discrimination and bullying in schools. This is because uniforms cannot reveal if students steam from a poorer or wealthier family such as regular clothes could do. As a result Pupils get less discriminated or bullied on their social status or appearance. Moreover uniformity creates equality which is much required and needed in education centres.A good illustration of this is a research made in a primary school in Paris. This research wanted to find out if more equality and less mobbing was created in classrooms trough the implementation of a uniform. The results were significant. Bullying rates decreased to 10 percent and students even told that their mental health improved massively. Regarding the disadvantages students are unable to develop their own style and identify themselves individually due to school uniforms. Individual choices for example such as wearing additional accessorise like earrings or rings are strictly prohibited in various schools. Additionally school outfits often look very boring as they are designed in colours such as black, grey and blue. Moreover some education centres check students on their appearance every day. For instance in some schools they are special instructors who wait at the entrance every morning to control if boys and girls are dressed appropriately. This often leads to resentment and anger from the students towards schools because they feel controlled and not respected. In conclusion, I opine that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. Even though school uniforms might not look good as other clothing’s or are not the most comfortable they create equality between students which is the most important for the creation of a healthy and peaceful school climate.