Many countries have recently adopted the practice of placing cameras in the streets and other public area in order to reduce crime. To what extent do you think this is effective and does it conflict with the public’s right to privacy. Discuss

In the contemporary world, crime is a threat to society increasing rapidly. To tackle this issue, installing cameras in public places is quite common these days. In my opinion, this technique is effective but up to an extent and I disagree that it intrigues someone's privacy because of its importance for their safety. To start with, with the help of cameras in crowded places, if there is an incident police can get access to criminals but it is hard to stop crime before it happens. For example, there were riots in Harris Park in Sydney where police caught criminals because of security cameras installed but even after having it, they could not stop it. Therefore, having surveillance is always helpful for a safer society but additional efforts are also needed to put a ban on it. In addition, it is argued that watching someone's activities might be a breach of his personal space. Nonetheless, having access to only authorised personnel provides a solution. These recordings are not easily accessible by the public or any other individuals unless asked by the court order for security reasons. For instance, If someone steals your car while you are having a coffee in street, you might want to see the camera but only the police or the court can reach there. As a result, these cameras should not be considered in conflict with privacy. To conclude, people are reluctant to crimes if they are aware of the fact that someone is watching them. Hence, public places should be secured by recorders where possible because it is not the violence of solitude but guards of safety.