Some people think secondary school students should study international news as one of their subjects, while others believe that this is a waste of valuable school time. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

There are differing views regarding whether global news should be made a subject in secondary schools or not. In my opinion, making international headlines as a required subject in school is worth it, because it could ignite motivation for students future excellence. On the one hand, students do not get direct benefits for their future careers if they study international news. Knowing information on current events, such as tsunamis or wars, may not provide evident skills to increase their chances of getting good jobs. That’s why, some people think it will be better if students allocate their valuable time to learn relevant studies, like math or science. However, I do not think all students want to be a scientist or an engineer. Exploring global news, for instance, may grow their interest in journalism. On the other hand, studying news around the world has the power to motivate future excellence in students. When schools make international news a required subject in school, they will be exposed to headlines that shape the world today and inspire them to also make meaningful contributions in the future. For example, entrepreneur Jeff Bezos built a company, the Blue Origin, and launched a rocket to space, He was inspired because he saw the news of the first man who landed on the moon when he was a child. In conclusion, while studying global news is not directly benefit students future careers, it has the potential to motivate future excellence in students, and, therefore should be included as a mandatory subject in secondary education.