Some people think that social networking sites have a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the development of the internet, it becomes more and more popular for modern people to communicate and share information through social media or websites. However, some people advocate that this phenomenon has negatively affected individuals and society. In this essay, I am going to explain the reasons why I opine that the drawbacks of social networking sites overweigh their benefits. To being with, it is undeniable that communication technology makes it more convenient and time-saving for people to contact each other. Social media such as Instagram, Facebook and Twitter which have millions of registers provide platforms for folks to express their feelings, share information and even post a video. For instance, during the Covid-19 pandemic, Taiwanese authorities promoted public sanitation concepts, updated the pandemic situation and broadcasted information about vaccine injection through social networking sites, therefore, civilians received messages related to Covid-19 anywhere at any time. It played an essential role over the period. On the other hand, cyberbullying and internet fraud are the issues which are caused by social media. In specific, there are a large number of juveniles who have a mental illness because of suffering bullying on the internet. According to a survey of Japanese teenagers, the results show that there are a large proportion of students having Change the form of the verb have show examples experienced cyberbullying. Moreover, some of them even have tried to commit suicide which causes an urgent issue in Japanese society. In conclusion, social networking sites play an essential role in broadcasting information and communication. Nevertheless, the phenomenon brings many disadvantages to society and even affects individuals’ mental health which makes it compelling for people to take it seriously.