In many parts of the world girls and boys are educated together in co-educational or mixed schools. Some people think that girls and boys benefit from being educated separately in single-sex schools. To what extent do you agree with this view?

Parents and their children consider many different factors while trying to find perfect educational institution. Going to co-educational or mixed school is one of them. In my opinion, this element does not affect quality of education students get. It rather affects their social and emotional maturity. For this reason, I prefer mixed schools over single-sex. To begin with, teenage years are very sensitive period of an extreme changes in our bodies. Certainly, people and friends they are surrounded with affects their emotional development and well-being. Therefore, it is important that they learn how to cooperate and hang out with friends of opposite sex as soon as they can to avoid communication issues later in life, especially at their work places. The reason why attending a mixed schools is beneficial is differences that exist between boys and girls that are somewhat big and it is important for youngsters to understand them. It encourages one to learn more about one’s society. However, there are some negative aspects of attending a mixed school. In other words, great majority of young people start to show interest in people of opposite sex while there are still very emotional. It can affect student’s ability to concentrate on education. Not only that, but also it might lead to starting a relationships too soon. Therefore causing many disappointments and heartbreaks. Moreover it can enhance one’s insecurities when being rejected. To summarize, teenage years are very delicate period of life when people learn to socialize, meet their friends and sometimes love partners. Although, single-sex schools can have better impact on concentration, co-educational give more natural surrounding which is important for later years in life.