Some cultures appear to give preference to older people than younger people while other cultures seem to prefer the younger generation. Which do you think is better? Discuss including examples from your own knowledge and experience.

It seems that many countries prefer the older generation rather than the younger one, while others instead tend to value young people rather than the elders. I believe that the first approach is better than the second one because juveniles represent the future of our society. Today's world should pay more attention to young people, they are the present and the future. Many cultures, however, tend to give more importance to the elders because they represent the majority of their population. By doing this, most societies are based on old principles and values and do not develop according to the new standards given by this globalised world. Many states, in fact, believe that taking care of old people is far better than concentrating on younger ones. For example, Japan and Italy which are the countries with the highest rate of elders in the world, continue to leave apart young males and females who are motivated to leave their homes to reach new countries with new opportunities. Other cultures, instead, tend to have an approach that put in the first position the juveniles. This system is really frequent in westernized cultures where states bet on young people by providing financial support in several fields. Two European countries that portray this approach are France and the Netherlands, lands that are the target of not only regional but also international students. These countries have a solid basis laid on juveniles, who are financially helped during their growth and their education. For example, the Ministry of Education of the Netherlands offers international students a financial loan to support their journey abroad away from their homes. In conclusion, Although is true that elders represent the majority of the population in most countries, I believe that young people should be praised and helped by modern society because they represent the future of our world.