For centuries, important parts of education have remained such as reading, writing and maths. With the advent of computers, some people think that computer skill be made as a fourth skill to be added to the list. To what extent do you agree?

Over the years, it is said that the traditional way of learning has been imbibed in the educational system which includes English literacy and Mathematics, however, certain people believe that the advent of technology would be a surplus. I agree completely with the statement as this advancement provides job opportunity and create easy accessibility to the internet. Irrefutably, the introduction of computers in our society plays an essential role in students accessing the web in search of valuable information with ease. More so, they can even study and grasp more knowledge on other courses taught in their schools with different experienced teachers. Less I forget, the utilisation of computers can save cost and time as educatees can remotely have access to their online classes. For example, currently, every teenager in China joins the virtual learning platform with their personal electronic devices due to the epidemic situation. Thus, it is easy for the country to quickly swap because they had technically taught her citizens these skills. Additionally, the world needs people with computer knowledge. Machines are replacing human effort jobs as it is effective and efficient in any organization, so recruitment only stands a chance for an individual with the technical know-how. For instance, developed countries like Japan needs professionals in the information technology and medical sectors where only robots will be utilized to carry out surgical operations. To this, there is a need for an update in the old-fashioned system of learning so the students will be equipped with the job skills needed in the labour market. In as much as subjects like English and arithmetic are important, we cannot eliminate the key advantage of proficiency in computing. In conclusion, I strongly agree that this computer training should be included as a fourth course as the future of the world relies on it.