Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company of organization. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

These days, the trend of being self-employed has become very popular. Most individuals do not prefer to work under someone due to various reasons. However, not working in an organization might have its cons too. In this essay, I will shed light on why folks do not like to be employed by someone as well as the disadvantages of it. The most important reason is that people are not satisfied with what they earn from a company. This is due to the fact that the pay scale is much less in most countries. To illustrate, the average salary of a graduate student in Pakistan is 30,000 rupees per month, which is way too low for bearing monthly expenses. As a result, most graduates choose to be self-employed. Moreover, they would not like to put up with the petty attitude of employers towards the people underneath them. As a consequence, the toxic culture of workplaces eventually leads people to resign and leave. The major disadvantage of being your own boss is the income is never steady. This means that the income fluctuates depending upon the growth of the business each month. For instance, if there is a dramatic decline or loss in the work, one might even go bankrupt. Another bad side of being an entrepreneur is that they never have time for their family and are always occupied with meetings or work. Due to this, businessmen can build up a communication gap with the family and that would eventually lead to an unhappy life. To sum up, it is quite true to say that being your own boss has its own benefits while having some negatives too but it totally depends on any individual on what he prefers.