Some believe that traffic problems in cities can best be resolved by investing in urban infrastructure while others feel there are superior solutions. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, it is true to say that traffic congestions become a major problem in most cities. Some individuals believe that constructing more public transportation systems could overcome this issue, whereas others claim that another possible solution will be there to solve this problem. This essay will show both views and then I will present my individual concern. On the one hand, many people believe that authorities have to invest in a large number of urban infrastructures such as local trains, subways and expressways. There is no doubt that, if the public transportations are affordable and reliable for citizens, they will definitely travel by those systems. Consequently, commuting areas will be reduced and governments could also easy to manage all the traffic from their control centres. However, initial costs for those systems will be expensive and many city administrators could not achieve this goal. On the other hand, some opponents feel that administrators ought to improve current traffic rules and regulations rather than spending a lot of money on cities' infrastructures. Obviously, authorities could limit private own vehicles usage and encourage eco-friendly travelling like bicycling. As a result, the public could obtain health benefits as well as fewer carbon emissions into their surroundings. Although the main idea is good enough, it would be difficult to participate by the public,especially in large metropolitan areas. To conclude, as I mentioned above, both views have their own advantages and disadvantages. In my humble opinion, we have to be balanced between these two views. We need to construct new infrastructures as well as encourage to use of new regulations to control commuting in our cities.