The best way to solve the world’s environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The pollution of the environment has become the most often discussed topic in recent years. While it is true that motor vehicle fume has been a major contributor to this global issue, I don’t agree with the notion that increasing the price of fuel for land vehicles would solve this problem. This essay will discuss the adverse effects of such a solution and a more effective way to curb vehicle fumes. It is not a wise move to increase fuel prices as cars and other vehicles are not the only polluters. Factories and other machinery used in industries emit more greenhouse gasses. Even agricultural methods can harm the environment significantly, which can be seen in the Netherlands where a high level of Nitrous Oxide is released causing concerns of the European Commission. Moreover, increasing the price of fuel will increase the cost of living with increased transport costs of consumer articles and the cost of motor car users. We can see staggering inflation rates in Europe with the mere short supply of fuels due to the Ukraine-Russian war. A Better Alternative to curb the emissions of carbon by motor vehicles is to facilitate the use of electric cars. It is obvious that electric vehicles emit virtually nothing and nor do they contribute to noise pollution. These cars, for example, are charged with solar-powered charging stations and therefore the electricity used to charge the car batteries use clean energy. The effect will be enormous and therefore, governments need to provide more subsidies to the buyers of such vehicles to encourage this useful technology. In conclusion, while agreeing on the pollution caused by motor vehicles, I do not agree an increase in fuel prices for them would be a prudent solution thereto. What the government should do is provide subsidies to purchase electric vehicles.