Some feel that cities should be designed to be beautiful while others feel their functionality is more important. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

One part of society believes that investment should be made towards making cities attractive and appealing. However, others are of the opinion that utility has a bigger part to play in building societies. I think usefulness holds a primary role and other decisions should be taken depending on the financial bandwidth. This essay further discusses both aspects in detail. To begin with, people who like the idea of beauty are attracted to places which are designed on unique themes and international styles. They are more inclined to visit appealing places, thus helping in promoting travel and tourism among local and foreign communities. For instance, Dubai is ranked as one of the most visited places among travellers due to its huge buildings and fine design. Moreover, in today’s time people have increased buying power and they are willing to splurge on things which provide them breath-taking experience. On the contrary, spending on functionality has its own importance, as investments towards basic amenities, including health care, education, and infrastructure aid citizens to lead a better and healthy life. For instance, government spending towards the education sector helps in promoting the literacy rates of the nation. The well-educated nation is seen respectfully and admirably by other countries. Additionally, it opens doors for other lucrative opportunities. To sum up, functionality is the most basic and vital aspect in designing structures followed by secondary aspects.