It has been said that reading for pleasure is better in developing imagination and language skills than watching TV. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, public debate has been going on over whether reading for pleasure is better for developing imagination and language skills than watching TV. Some believe that reading is more beneficial for those who want to spend their free time developing new skills or learning a new language, while others say that watching TV has the same impact as reading books on your imagination and cognitive skills. To begin with, I believe that reading books is more useful than watching TV in your spare time. Books, especially classic ones, are pieces of art that have stood the trial of time, thus they are as valuable today as they were the day they were written. Meaning, reading books can wider readers' perspectives of the world and its history. In addition, reading books with a lot of different characters encourages readers to create an image of the characters, thus stimulating their imagination, rather than watching the already-created portrait of the character on the screen. Furthermore, reading books in a foreign language can be helpful in learning it. In most cases, writers use classical language which means there is no slang or grammatical mistakes that could affect the reader’s learning process. On the other hand, there are people that promote watching TV as an instrument that is as useful as reading books. They claim that watching TV can help people learn a new language by hearing it and it might be easier than reading books, because of the visual representation of what is said. In addition, TV -watching lovers tend to believe that watching TV takes up less time than reading and lets watchers relax while images on the screen stipulate the part of the brain that is responsible for creativeness. Meaning, that by watching TV people can relax and rest more than while reading a book, but at the same time triggering sensors in the creative part of the brain. In conclusion, watching TV and reading books are popular ways to spend free time. Though it is said that watching TV develops a person's imagination, I believe reading books is more beneficial for your cognitive skill development due to its complicated nature.