The noise level around us is constantly increasing and affecting the quality of our lives. What causes the everyday noise that many people face? What can be done about it?

It is true that the Increased level of sound in our surroundings can cause pollution which affects our physical and mental well-being. This essay will discuss the causes of noise that is faced by some people on the daily basis and possible remedies for the same. To begin with, there are two key groups of generators of noise that exist in our environment. The first and foremost sound emitting group consists of vehicles including aeroplanes. Their sound emission has been enormous and the cumulative value could be over 100 decibels which is the harmful threshold. Likewise, machinery in factories generates enormous sound which is unbearable for workers unless they wear protective equipment. This has caused 12000 premature deaths per year in Europe alone while it causes 400,000 annual hospitalisations in the same region. There are several possible solutions available to mitigate this harm to the people who face this issue. Planting trees is one suggested solution. Trees have the inherent ability to absorb sound shielding humans although noise has adverse effects on the trees themselves. Growing green areas in vacant areas of cities where this kind of pollution is prevailing at a significant rate would ameliorate the situation to a certain extent. Another solution is to provide noise cancelling headphones to factory workers who are widely exposed to noise. In addition, governments can bring in laws to phase out vehicles with internal combustion engines replacing them with electric motor vehicles as they make no noise. Also, laws can be brought to regulate noise levels of all vehicles and machinery with noise cancelling devices to maintain the level of noise to a healthy level. In conclusion, noise pollution is not only harmful but also can be lethal in certain instances. However, there are many measures available to mitigate them to remain at a healthy level and fully implemented, governmental controls can have a significant reduction in their levels.