People from older generations have difficulty using smartphones and new technology. What is the cause of this? What are some possible solutions?

Nowadays, digitalisation is accelerated and most people own smartphones. Whilst it makes the young generation's life easier, the elderly are facing difficulty to be familiar with them. In my view, by choosing the right smartphone and adapting to daily exercise, the difficulty they face can be reduced. These days, smartphones have many functionalities, and as a result, they are considered small computers. Just about 20 years ago, the smartphone was not widely used, and most people used fixed phones which only had numbered buttons to make a call and it was easy to use. On the other hand, current smartphones have a variety of functionalities, which makes the elderly community confused. Furthermore, as we get older, we lose the capacity to memorize stuff, and it is hard to memorize complicated stuff. The research published by Tokyo University identified that the capacity of memorizing stuff is twice smaller at the age of 60 compared to the age of 30 in general. Thus, it is undeniable that it is not easy for the old generation to be familiar with smartphones. To tackle the above issues, I would propose two actions that the elderly society can take. First, purchase a smartphone that is designed exclusively for the elderly. When we go to an electric store, we can find smartphones with a big screen and limited functionality which are designed for the older generation. These phones can help the elderly community with getting familiar with the phone. Second, adapt a routine to walk 30 minutes every morning to combat memory loss. Although it is not directly linked to the use of smartphones, the research team at the University of Edinburgh proved that daily moderate exercise can help people to memorize things. By adapting the routine, elderly people can memorize how to use smartphones. Overall, although smartphones are becoming more complicated to use and we tend to forget things as ageing, by choosing the right smartphone and by accommodating daily routine doing moderate exercise, the elderly will face less difficult to get used to smartphones.