Some educationalists argue that non-exam, arts-based subjects, such as music, drama, art and craft, should be compulsory in the secondary-school curriculum. They believe that activities such as these can improve overall academic performance. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A growing number of specialists are of the view that art-based fields of study such as music or drama should be included in the list of compulsory subjects. It is thought that these studies would be useful for pupils to wide their general knowledge. In some extent, I agree with this point of view, although that opinion has both pros and cons which will be considered below. To begin with, some students might not have a desire or ability to take a part in such activities. For example, some of pupils who are responsible enough to think about the future might wish to study medicine at the university, so he/she will need to prepare harder for the future exams and concentrate on subjects which a university require. In other words, there is no extra time for them to spend it on art classes due to the fact that such subjects will not be useful in their preparation. On the other hand, extra activities are able to reduce students’ stress during their education. Pupils have to pay their attention to the other field of study so there is an opportunity to have a rest from their routine. For instance, some of art-based subjects might match with a pupil’s hobby so they will have only positive outcome from such lessons. However, if a student forced to choose an art class which he/she does not like there will be negative consequences such as reducing interest in school or even hatred of it. To conclude, school autthorirties consider an opportunity to make art-based subjects compulsory due to the fact that such classes will have a positive impact on a pupil’s erudition. I suppose, that decision has to be considered more properly due to the circumstances such as possible absence of a pupil’s desire or decrease of school interest.