Some people believe that teenagers should be required to do unpaid community work in their free time. This can benefit teenagers and the community as well. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is common for some people to think that adolescents should be required to do some community work in their free time without being paid, moreover they believe that it could benefit teenagers and the society. In my opinion, irrespective of the numerous arguments that exist on either side, unpaid work could help adolescents to understand what they love to do and help their personal development with a consequent positive benefit for the community indeed. First of all, it always happens to young people to start an occupation only because they need money to pay for their holidays with friends or their material wishes. However, often they continue to do the same job without thinking if they really like it or not, with the result that one day they discover that they want to change but they don't have a lot of skills to attend a new job. Experience a job without being paid could help them to really understand the value of their time. It sometimes happens that this kind of experience could be the first step in the discovery of a passion. Furthermore, the community might also have some beneficial effects because of a lot of reasons. Firstly, free work is always beneficial for the community. Moreover, there are a lot of public agencies that need support and they don't have enough money to pay for it. Finally, if teenagers discover these realities, they might have a better mindset throughout their adult lives. In conclusion, unpaid work could be positive for the development of teenagers in different ways, with a significant advantage for the community. Anyway, this practice has to be managed with attention and focus.