It is important for people to take risks, in both their professional lives and personal lives. Do the advantages of taking these risks outweigh the disadvantages?

Taking a risk involves straying out of your comfort zone and stepping into the unknown. However, it is often said that it is vital for a person to take risks whilst in employment or private life. This essay will discuss the merits and drawbacks of resorting to risks while agreeing on taking risks as it would award a person a world of opportunities. To begin with, making risky decisions in personal life require a thorough risk analysis as it involves uncertainty as to the consequences. If a person averts the risk or undertakes the risk depends on their assessment of the worst-case scenario. If they decided, for instance, to sell their only house in the village and move into the city to start a business, the failure of their business would result in their losing residence and frustration. However, if they could overcome the resultant personal feelings and are determined to move forward, they have opportunities to prosper. Likewise, risking the profession is a more hard decision for any employee. They are safe with the employment as they are assured of the salary if they worked according to workplace rules and culture. They have friends and the society created because of the environment. Stepping away from their comfort zone and risking all they have earned during work-life, for establishing a start-up company, would be a life-changing task. However, if somebody wants to change the way they live or make huge changes to their lives, a risk is a must and taking a calculated risk is a feature of a successful man. In conclusion, taking risks in both personal and professional life exposes a person to a certain element of danger. However, if someone wants to make a drastic change to their lifestyle or to a family, taking certain well-assessed risks is essential.