Longer life spans and improvements in the health of older people suggest that people over the age of sixty-five can continue to live full and active lives. In what ways can society benefit from the contribution that older people can make?

Today, the average life span of a human has increased from 65 to 80 years at maximum, this has affected society in different ways. People in their 60s, are still in good health condition and are fit to work and can have active lives. The seniors have a good experience with industry and life, which can be useful for the younger generation. In this essay, I shall discuss the benefits of senior citizens living an active lifestyle and continuing to do some form of job even after their retirement. To begin with, most people think that elders past 60, who have retired from jobs should take a break and rest. However, the fact that they are still fit enough to be productive and carry out their own routines can not be neglected. As much as rest is important for elderly folks, it is also necessary that they keep themselves busy and mobile throughout the day. This can be achieved by working or taking up part-time shifts, to keep themselves busy. One who does not keep their mind busy and body mobile is sure to face psychological problems like, being easily irritated, feeling left out or unimportant, turning into anxiety or depression, as well as physical issues like stiffening of limbs, joint pains, laziness or sloth leading to other serious health issues such as high blood pressure, diabetes or cholesterol. Therefore keeping oneself occupied is quite inevitable. Also, these seniors have a vast experience and knowledge of different aspects, that can help their children and grandchildren in multiple ways. Although it is true that they are not familiar with the latest technology, their experience and problem-solving techniques can be saviours at times. Thus, a person leading an active life is more likely to lead a healthier one In addition, leading an active lifestyle at an older age does not only benefit themselves but can also make a significant contribution to society as a whole.