Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In contemporary world, an increasing number of people choose to seek treatment advice from other alternative methods such as pharmacists, and online suggestions rather than asking doctors for professional treatment. As far as I am concerned, I tend to believe it is a negative trend as it will potentially bring a series of irreversible influences on patients themselves. People who support this statement may hold the following reason. First and foremost, the trend that people seek alternative medical advice is closely related to the current medical system. As available appointment time provided by doctors is usually limited, patients have to prepare a long-waiting time before they meet the doctor. For example, in some of the appointments in Australia like dermatology, physiotherapy, patients will be held on the waitlist for up to one month. It is not convenient and time-wasting for those people who live far away from the registered hospital and relevant medical service centres. However, they are now provided a new way to receive treatment in a more effective way, such as seeking medical solutions online or recommendations from people who have experienced similar symptoms. It seems like a positive development. However, such as statement suffers from both logical and factual fallacies. And it should be examined meticulously. The main reason for this is that the physical conditions of individuals are complicated and not always the same. Unprofessional suggestions provided by normal people may potentially put patients at risk of making their situation even worse, or potentially fatal. However, registered doctors are those people who have acquired professional knowledge and practices for many years, they are qualified and clearly know what is the best choice for patients. We have no reason to challenge their professions and qualifications. Another reason for this view is that some of the treatments can only be provided by doctors such as surgery and detailed body check. Even though artificial technology has eye-catching development in modern society and people can get great benefits from it. It can not replace the role of doctors. As medical treatment requires a high level of practice experience. To sum up, we can not deny the fact that alternative treatment can potentially benefit patients. However, Life has no reset button. It is much more appropriate to seek professional advice and treatment from doctors.