Do the advantages of supermarket outweight the disadvantages?

In recent years, supermarkets have been more prevalent so more consumers go shopping there instead of visiting traditional shops. This essay will discuss their benefits and drawbacks. From my perspective, the pros are greater than the cons for some reasons. On the one hand, supermarkets have their own advantages. Firstly, they offer a wide choice of products so customers can buy different things from fresh produce to household goods including electrical and electronic items. Secondly, they have long operating hours. Actually, they often operate from 6 a.m. to 10 p.m. so housewives can buy their wanted items whenever they have spare time. Thirdly, supermarkets often import a large scale of products so they always provide their customers with competitive prices compared with small stores. Lastly, buyers often get many special offers such as promotions, discounts and presents from loyalty programs. On the other hand, there are some disadvantages that no supermarket can avoid. First and foremost, most staff are unfriendly because they have to deal with many tasks given in a short amount of time. Another limitation is that during peak hours, they are always crowded. As a result, customers have to be in long queues at the checkout counters which is time-consuming. In addition, foods sold at supermarkets are often processed and sugary or salty which are detrimental to people's health in general. To sum up, although there are some unavoidable disadvantages existing in supermarkets, I still hold a firm belief that their advantages are far better than their disadvantages.