Some people think watching TV is bad for children, while others think that watching TV has more beneficial effects on children. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In this day and age, it is believed by some that watching TV is detrimental to children while others think that there are many benefits from children watching TV. Although there are certain reasons why watching TV can bring benefits for children, I personally think that the drawbacks of children watching TV a lot are more significant. On the one hand, watching TV can bring knowledge to children. First, watching educational TV programmes gives children the opportunity to widen their minds and enrich their knowledge of the world. For example, if children want to know more about animals or plants, they can watch programs about wildlife on TV. Second, it is possible for children to learn a foreign language by watching TV. Parents can help them watch TV to learn foreign languages through cartoons, music or some other channels. For instance, channels such as Baby TV may be useful for learning English. On the other hand, it is my firm belief that the drawbacks when children watch TV a lot are more considerable. The first reason is that sitting in front of TV screens for too long is bad for children's health. It can cause many problems for the eyes such as eyesores, and short-sightedness. Also, spending too much time watching TV instead of doing physical activities can make children obese. The second reason is that when children watch TV a lot, they do not want to leave their houses. Children may only watch TV programs at home and do not want to communicate with other people. As a result, this can have a negative effect on the mental health of children. In conclusion, although both sides have some ground reasons, I personally think that watching too much TV can be adverse to children.