Write about the following topic Today children spend a lot of their free time watching TV. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages of this practice? Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In contemporary society, most of the entertainment for the young generation is digitalized, and they spend their leisure time watching TV programs. This habit has both positive and negative impacts. And the latter outweighs the positive sides. For children, there are several advantages to watching television. To begin with, there is a large number of educational TV programs, movies, and cartoons which can teach youngsters new knowledge. As a result, there is not much need for parents to search for educational centers for children to teach something new about the world they live in. Moreover, watching colourful movies with deep meaning about human beings, the interaction between people and society, and people and nature is usually more interesting and memorable for people of young ages. On the other hand, the downsides of excessive TV watching cannot be ignored. For instance, sitting and watching TV all day long without breaks will negatively impact the children's physical condition. Eyesight can be damaged when the time and distance rules are not followed while looking at the screen. What is more, fewer physical actions and a sedentary lifestyle will lead to health problems like obesity or poor blood circulation. Children should spend more time actively, breathing pure air outside the home and learn to be more social with their peers. Communication with peers will help them to grow up mentally healthy. Additionally, it should be mandatory for parents to control and limit the channels that children constantly watch as shows may have a psychologically negative impact on children's behavior and lead to serious mental disorders later in their life. In conclusion, there are several positive impacts of watching TV with informative and educational programs for young audiences. However, the negatives should not be ignored as well, and limitations should be set to avoid negative side effects on children's mental and physical health conditions.