Cheaper food is now available because of greater use of fertilizers and improved machinery. This improved production, however, can be harmful to individuals and the community. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view? Discuss, including examples from your own knowledge and experience.

It is sometimes believed that fertilisers and other chemicals used to enlarge the capacity of production can be intimidating to both individuals and the community. This essay strongly disagrees with this suggestion for several reasons. The first point given to support my opinion is that it has been a marked development in agricultural science which means the chemicals used in edible products have been tested safe for human health. Fertilisers and pesticides, for instance, can be washed off after a period of time when products are ready to be delivered, thereby it is safe for consumers. The food products are also tested again by nutrition experts when arrived at retailers to ensure that consumers are not poisoned. Another reason behind my belief is that cheaper food is more accessible to the lower-class population. As far as foods are safe to be eaten when using the right amount of fertilisers, they should be massively produced to fulfil people's basic needs. Any products labelled organic can be priced up to two or three times higher than the original one. As the result, people tend to be reluctant to spend money to buy more healthy food for their family. In my conclusion, I totally disagree that the use of fertilisers and improved machinery can be harmful to individuals and the community has given the aforementioned arguments. I entirely disagree with the view because of the development of science in agriculture and easier access to those products for those who are struggling to buy food.