Some people say that what children watch influences their behaviour. Others believe the amount of time they spend on television influences their behaviour most. Discuss both view and give your opinion

While it is true that watching television affects children's behaviour, there is still a controversy over whether the content of the programs or the length of time spent watching these programs has a more significant influence. Although the amount of time does affect youngsters, I do believe that it is the content that has a more marked significant influence on them. On the one hand, watching television for a long period of time does have a detrimental effect on youngsters. Firstly, the longer the children are exposed to television, the more likely it is for them to become addicted to watching television. This might result in their neglecting outdoor activities such as playing football or running, which leads to a sedentary lifestyle that is highly harmful to their physical condition. Secondly, excessive TV watching impairs children ’s communication abilities, so they find it hard to play or live in harmony with others. Children would feel discouraged from having real interactions with people around them if they spent too much time in front of the screen, which may hinder their development of social skills. On the other hand, it is the broadcasted images that have the most direct effect on children. First, in most countries the majority of TV shows present glamorized depictions of inappropriate materials such as violence, drug abuse or casual sex, thus youngsters may adopt unhealthy habits and improper behaviour. For example, they might fall under the impression that the use of alcoholic drinks is fashionable without being aware of the health risks they carry and later end up consuming these substances. Besides, in our modern consumer society, commercials also affect how children behave. Unwary young viewers could be easily swayed by captivating advertisements for junk food or video games, products whose target audience includes children, and so may pester their parents to buy these goods impulsively. In conclusion, though both factors have their own implications, I believe the element with the more considerable impact on children is the content. Hence, parental involvement is essential in controlling children ’s TV viewing habits and in shaping a child’s values to help them enter adult life with a healthy mind.