All parents want the best opportunities for their children. There are some people who think that schools should teach children skills but others think having a range of subjects is better for a children's future. Discuss both sides and give your opinion .

It is considered by some parents that children have to get skills in school, while others think that education should be concentrated on subjects. In my opinion, teaching some additional skills will help students in the future. This essay will discuss both viewpoints. On the one hand, there is an option that school can give to children not only academic base, but also help to train some additional skills, such as cooking, oratory, etc., which could help them in the future. In other words, individuals who have life skills will be easier to adapt in adult life, and received knowledge, such as oratory, could give strong points to the candidate on an university interview. It is difficult to argue against this view as long as such knowledge prepares teenagers for the best opportunities and it broadens their mind. For instance, the priority of universities in England is to get the best students, and competition is very high, because they want to get not only well-educated for the academic side, but also well-prepared with skills, because universities also want to know which bonuses candidates can bring to university life. However, many parents believe that the concentration on a subject is better for childrens’ future, because academic knowledge will help to get the best work opportunities. Indeed, some professions require a strong academic base, such as medicine, and companies require job seekers to have a degree to be a part of their organization. This may be true of some particular work, and some professions require people to study a subject deeply, but there are many cases when candidates move forward into the career steps without specialized training. To illustrate, many businessmen, such as Steve Jobs, did not get a University degree, but could built his own company by possessing the necessary skills for a successful businessman. To conclude, although it is still believed by many parents that schools should train children in some skills, other advocate the concentration on a subjects will help students in the future. In my opinion, school have to study skills, because getting of additional skills will help young people get more opportunities in University.