In recent years, people in many countries have been able to afford more material possessions such as electronic kitchen appliances, computers and vehicles. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this increased level of affluence, and give your opinion about whether this is a positive or negative development.

In the last few,years consumer goods have become more accessible to the general population leading to a rising in ownership of these material goods such as kitchen appliances, mobile phones and vehicles among other things. I my opinion this can be a beneficial development for our society If it is done in moderation. This essay will present both advantages and drawbacks regarding this topic. On the one hand, the growing possession of material things has had a clear beneficial impact on people's life by making it easier. Nowadays technologically innovative goods are affordable to most of the population, meaning that almost every one of us can enjoy their perks. Computers and other gadgets facilitate communication and are extremely helpful in this era of globalization both in our personal and professional life. For instance, during the pandemic personal contact was restricted but people from all walks of life were able to continue to do their job and keep in touch with their loved ones by using zoom and other means. On the flip side, the surging amount of demand for material possessions leads to an increase in their production, which can have detrimental effects on the environment. For,example the process of manufacturing cars, computers and others contributes to the consumption of fossil fuels and consequently pollution. In conclusion, I believe that the rise in the accessibility of material things can have a positive effect on people's life by making it easier and providing alternatives in extreme situations such as the covid-19 pandemic. Be that as it may, the method by which these possessions are produced can have an unfavourable effect on our environment with long-lasting consequences.