In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why in this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, businesses often prioritize newness and the importance of advertising to emphasize their products. There are many reasons for this and it can be argued that it has both positive and negative implications. The main advantage of businesses emphasizing the newness of their products is that it allows them to distinguish themselves from their competitors. By creating advertising which highlights the innovative aspects of their product, businesses give customers a sense that their product is state-of-the-art and offers something unique. This is particularly important in industries where there is a high level of competition and where customers are looking for products which offer an edge over those of other companies. On the other hand, the emphasis on newness can be seen as a negative development. This is because it encourages consumerism and encourages people to buy more products than they need. Additionally, advertising which focuses on making customers feel like they must always have the latest and most up-to-date product can create financial hardship as people may struggle to keep up with the constant demands of an ever-changing marketplace. To conclude, while it can be argued that businesses emphasizing the newness of their products can be beneficial in terms of helping them to stand out from their competitors, the flip side of this is that it can encourage consumerism and pressure people into buying more than they need. For this reason, businesses should look to strike a balance between promoting newness and helping customers to make informed sensible purchasing decisions.