Some believe that it is parents who should teach their children to recycle waste while others feel schools are more responsible. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

It is said that education starts at home and while some argue that schools are the ones responsible for teaching children how to recycle waste, others claim that parents also have the duty of educating their sons and daughters on this subject. I believe that both schools and parents need to work together in order to successfully cultivate this practice in the younger generation. This essay will present reasons for both sides and my opinion. On one hand, children tend to imitate what they see their parents doing, they serve as role models for a number of aspects of their lives, especially at an impressionable age, which means that they are more likely to recycle if they see their parents also doing it. Mothers and fathers should lead by example and teach their kids this practice. For instance, there are statistics that show that most adults that grew up in households where their parents recycled have now this habit in their own life. On the other hand, it is undeniable that a school is a place where children go to learn most of the tools they will use in their future, although these are usually focused on academic areas, and not so much on practical ones such as the act of recycling. So what does this mean? Well, in school kids will be taught the benefits of recycling and how to do it, and they will be encouraged to do it by being offered information about it. But is this enough? I believe that it depends on the way schools choose to approach this subject. For example, some schools have classes and activities dedicated to educating their students in this matter engaging them to participate with surprising results while others only put up posters that are easily ignored by kids. In conclusion, I personally believe that the school should along with the parents provide the tools for children to know how to recycle and the advantages of doing it. It should be teamwork between both of them in order to achieve the best results.